9 Countries That Britain Colonised In Africa

How Many Countries In Africa Did Britain Colonise?

How Many Countries In Africa Did Britain Colonise?

The history of British colonialism in Africa shows that Britain colonised 9 countries in Africa.

Below is a list and brief history of the 9 countries that Britain colonised in Africa.


Ghana was one of the many countries in Africa that Britain colonised. The British first arrived in Ghana in the early 18th century, when the country was known as the Gold Coast. They established a colony there, which they ruled for nearly 200 years. During that time, the British imposed their own laws and customs on the Ghanaian people, and exploited the country’s resources for their own benefit.

The British finally left Ghana in 1957, after it became independent. 


Britain colonised Nigeria in the late nineteenth century, and held control over the country for many years. During this time, Britain had a profound impact on Nigeria, shaping its political and economic landscape.

Today, Nigeria is a sovereign nation, but the legacy of British colonialism can still be seen in many aspects of the country. For example, English is still the official language of Nigeria, and the legal system is based on English common law. Additionally, Nigeria’s economy is heavily reliant on oil exports – a resource that was first exploited by British companies during colonial rule.

South Africa

South Africa was one of the last African countries to be colonised by Britain, with the first British settlers arriving in 1820. The British colony of Natal was established in 1843, and the Boer republics of Orange Free State and Transvaal were annexed in 1877 and 1881 respectively. The British presence in South Africa led to the establishment of a racially segregated society, with white people enjoying privilege and power over the black majority. This system of white supremacy was codified in law under the Apartheid regime, which ruled South Africa from 1948 to 1994. In recent years, South Africa has been working to overcome its legacy of racial inequality, but many challenges remain.


Kenya was one of the many countries in Africa that Britain colonised. The British first arrived in Kenya in 1884, when they established a protectorate over the area. They then colonised it fully in 1920, making it a colony. Kenya remained a colony until 1963, when it gained independence from Britain.

During its time as a colony, Kenya was an important part of the British Empire. It was a major source of agricultural products, such as coffee and tea, and also had significant deposits of minerals, such as gold and manganese. Thousands of Britons settled in Kenya during the colonial period, and many more visited the country on safari or to climb Mount Kilimanjaro.

Kenyan independence was achieved after years of struggle by Kenyan nationalists against British rule. The most famous moment in this struggle came in 1952, when Kenyans staged a mass uprising known as the Mau Mau Rebellion. This rebellion was brutally suppressed by the British, but it ultimately led to increased calls for independence, which were finally realised in 1963.

Since independence, Kenya has been an important country in Africa. It is home to some of the continent’s highest mountains, including Mount Kilimanjaro, and its capital city, Nairobi, is one of the largest and most cosmopolitan cities on the continent. Kenya is also well-known for its wildlife reserves, such as the Maasai Mara National Reserve, which is home to some of Africa’s most iconic animals


Rhodesia was a country in Africa that was colonised by Britain. The country was named after Cecil Rhodes, who was a British businessman and politician. Rhodesia was situated in the southern part of Africa, and its capital city was Salisbury. The country became independent from Britain in 1980, and its name was changed to Zimbabwe.


Tanzania is a country located in East Africa. The United Kingdom colonized the area now known as Tanzania in the late 19th century, and it remained a British colony until 1961 when it achieved independence. Tanzania is one of the most populous countries in Africa, with over 56 million people. The capital city is Dodoma, although the largest city is Dar es Salaam. Tanzanians are of various origins, with the majority being of African descent. The official languages of Tanzania are Swahili and English.


In 1884, Britain colonised Uganda after signing a treaty with the Ugandan king. The country was then ruled as a British colony until 1962, when it gained independence. During its time as a colony, Uganda was known for its agriculture and coffee production. British rule in Uganda was often controversial, as the country’s indigenous population was not given the same rights and privileges as the colonial settlers.


It is estimated that Britain colonised around a quarter of the African continent. This includes countries such as Algeria, which was a French colony prior to British rule.

Algeria was under French rule for over a century, until it gained independence in 1962. However, during the final years of French rule, there was growing unrest among the Algerian people. This led to a war of independence, which the Algerians eventually won.

Since gaining independence, Algeria has been through a number of military dictatorships and civil wars. However, it is now considered to be a stable country. It is a member of the United Nations and has close ties with France and other European countries.


Sudan is a large, predominantly Muslim country located in northeastern Africa. Sudan was one of the many African countries colonized by Britain during the 19th century. Britain’s colonization of Sudan began in 1882, when British troops occupied the city of Khartoum. Over the next several decades, Britain expanded its control over Sudan, eventually making it a colony in 1899.

During British rule, Sudan was largely governed as two separate entities: the Colony of Sudan and the Anglo-Egyptian Sudan. The Colony of Sudan consisted of the southern and central parts of the country, while Anglo-Egyptian Sudan included the northern regions. In 1956, following a period of turmoil, Sudan gained independence from Britain. However, tensions between the north and south eventually led to civil war, which lasted for more than 20 years.

Today, Sudan is still recovering from its years of conflict. The country faces many challenges, including economic instability, human rights abuses, and a lack of basic infrastructure. Despite these difficulties, Sudan has made some progress in recent years and is working to build a brighter future for its people.


The history of the British colonisation of Africa suggests that Britain colonised 9 African countries which were all integrated into the British Empire.