Chinua Achebe: Afronaut

Chinua Achebe: Afronaut

Chinua Achebe, the legendary Nigerian author, is widely celebrated for his monumental contributions to African literature. While often recognized for his role in portraying the complexities of pre-colonial African societies, Achebe’s masterful trilogy – “Things Fall Apart,” “No Longer at Ease,” and “Arrow of God” – showcases his prowess as an African Futurist Artist.

Through these works, Achebe brilliantly explores the intricate social and cultural ramifications of Africa’s encounter with British colonialism

Chinua Achebe’s African Futurist Approach

African futurism, as exemplified by Achebe’s trilogy, involves envisioning futures based on an amalgamation of African traditions, histories, and contemporary challenges. In “Things Fall Apart,” “No Longer at Ease,” and “Arrow of God,” Achebe combines historical accuracy with imaginative projection to create a narrative tapestry that reverberates with the past, critiques the present, and anticipates potential futures.

“Things Fall Apart”: Navigating the Colonial Encounter

Achebe’s magnum opus, “Things Fall Apart,” serves as the cornerstone of his African futurist exploration. Set in pre-colonial Nigeria, the novel chronicles the life of Okonkwo, a warrior and leader of the Igbo community. As British colonialism encroaches upon his people’s traditional way of life, Okonkwo’s world begins to unravel.

By intertwining history and mythology, Achebe vividly depicts the transformation of Igbo society in the face of colonial intrusion. Through characters like Okonkwo, who embodies both strength and vulnerability, Achebe crafts a narrative that delves into the profound psychological impact of colonialism on identity, traditions, and power dynamics.

“No Longer at Ease”: Post-Colonial Struggles

In “No Longer at Ease,” Achebe takes readers into a post-colonial Nigeria as Obi Okonkwo, the grandson of Okonkwo from “Things Fall Apart,” returns from England to work as a civil servant. The novel explores the challenges faced by educated Africans who straddle the cultural complexities of colonial inheritance and the aspirations of their modernizing nation.

Achebe’s skillful blend of realism and symbolism reflects the tensions between tradition and progress, personal ambitions and collective responsibilities. As Obi grapples with moral dilemmas and bureaucratic corruption, Achebe’s African futurist lens extends beyond colonial encounter to encompass the challenges of a nascent nation seeking to define itself in the aftermath of colonial rule.

“Arrow of God”: Spirituality and Political Turmoil

The final installment in Achebe’s trilogy, “Arrow of God,” delves into the intricacies of spirituality and political upheaval. Set in a Nigerian village during the colonial era, the novel centers on Ezeulu, the priest of the deity Ulu. As British rule imposes its authority, Ezeulu’s spiritual and political authority faces unprecedented challenges.

Achebe’s fusion of historical accuracy with spiritual symbolism illuminates the complex interplay between indigenous belief systems and external influence. “Arrow of God” serves as a poignant exploration of power dynamics, the loss of agency, and the tensions that arise when spiritual leaders navigate the treacherous waters of colonial rule.

Continuing the Achebe Journey: Further Reading

While the trilogy of “Things Fall Apart,” “No Longer at Ease,” and “Arrow of God” forms the heart of Achebe’s exploration of colonialism and its aftermath, his literary legacy extends far beyond these works. For those seeking to delve deeper into Achebe’s nuanced narratives and distinctive voice, consider these essential reads:

  1. “A Man of the People” (1966): In this political satire, Achebe sharpens his critique of post-independence African leadership. The novel presents a scathing portrayal of corruption and disillusionment as it follows the rise and fall of a populist leader.
  2. “Anthills of the Savannah” (1987): Set in an imaginary West African nation, the novel dissects the complexities of power, loyalty, and betrayal among a group of friends who occupy influential positions within the government.
  3. “Chike and the River” (1966): Achebe’s foray into children’s literature offers an enchanting tale of a young boy’s journey from his rural village to the city, capturing themes of ambition and the allure of the unknown.


Chinua Achebe’s triumphant trilogy – “Things Fall Apart,” “No Longer at Ease,” and “Arrow of God” – exemplifies his role as an African futurist artist. Through his skillful blend of history, mythology, and imagination, Achebe captures the intricate social and cultural dimensions of Africa’s encounter with British colonialism.

These novels not only serve as windows into the past but also illuminate the complexities of colonial disruption and the subsequent struggles of a post-colonial era.

Achebe’s African futurist lens enables readers to grapple with the profound implications of colonial intrusion, political upheaval, and the tensions between tradition and progress.

As one journeys through Achebe’s works, the resonance of his narratives offers insights into the collective memory, identity, and resilience of African societies in the face of formidable challenges. In embracing Achebe’s works, readers embark on an exploration of the past, an analysis of the present, and a contemplation of potential African futures.